Review: Perfect for You (Fire and Icing #4) by Jessie Evans

February 11, 2015 2014 Read & Review, 2015 Review Challenge, 3.0 Stars, Book Review, Category Romance, contemporary, Enemies/Frienemies to Lovers, Meh, novella, Romance, self published, series, slice of life, Sweet 0 ★★★

Review: Perfect for You (Fire and Icing #4) by Jessie Evans three-stars
Perfect for You by Jessie Evans
Series: Fire and Icing #4
Published by Self Taught Ninja Press on February 5, 2014
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 88
Format: eBook
Goodreads
Buy at Amazon
A Summerville Short Story
Fire and Icing Four-Short Story

Nothing is sweeter than a second chance…

When art teacher Dawn Fuller signed up for “Speed Dating with Doughnuts” in her new hometown of Atlanta, the most she hoped for was a night away from her empty apartment and a maple cruller—anything to distract her from the loneliness she has felt since her kids left for their first summer visitation with their father. But when the night arrives and Trent Baron, her former college nemesis, sits down across the Speed Dating table, Dawn realizes she may be getting more of a distraction than she bargained for.

Trent Baron has come a long way from the backwards, small-minded college football player who used to argue with Dawn in Freshman Sociology. Now a devoted father and the owner of Atlanta’s most successful bike shop, divorced Trent is the kind of honest, supportive man that women dream about. But does he have what it takes to win the heart of his college crush?

Trent is determined to show Dawn that people can change, and that sometimes the perfect match comes along in an unexpected package.

Fans of Bella Andre, Kristan Higgins, and Susan Mallery will love the Summerville romance series, stories featuring sassy Southern women and the alpha males who love them.

Perfect for You was a cute, sweet and short novella. The MCs met while in college – had a bit of an adversarial relationship – and then don’t meet again until 10 or so years later at a speed dating event.

I enjoyed Perfect for You – it’s a rather adorable and sweet (meaning no sex) novella about second chances and mixing families (both the MCs have children). I love how the author was able to touch on the fact that the couple had more than just themselves to think of: both are parents and their relationship being blessed by their children was clearly a priority. Very cute. I also enjoyed the fact that there was no unrealistic angst and the two people talked to each other (like adults are prone to do).

As I said, this was a short novella (almost a short story) and there wasn’t a lot to it. But it did make me interested in trying some of the other books in the Fire and Icing series by Ms Evans.

Leave a Reply