Anthology Review – Red Hot Beginnings: The Navy SEAL’s E-Mail Order Bride by Cora Seton

December 18, 2015 2015 Review Challenge, 2016 Kindle Freebie Freakout!, Anthology, Book Review, Category Romance, contemporary, ebook, Free Read - Kindle Copy, Romance, series 0 ★★½

Anthology Review – Red Hot Beginnings: The Navy SEAL’s E-Mail Order Bride by Cora Seton two-half-stars
The Navy SEAL's E-Mail Order Bride by Cora Seton
Series: Red Hot Beginnings, The Heroes of Chance Creek
Published by Malachite Publishing LLC on May 20, 2014
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 262
Format: eBook
Buy at Amazon
Mason Hall, Navy SEAL, knows all about difficult assignments, but his current mission is one for the record books. Not only must he find a wife—and get her pregnant—or forfeit the ranch his family has prized for generations, he must also convince his three brothers to marry, too—before the year is up. Who knew one city girl and three wayward brothers could put up such a fight?

Regan Anderson can’t wait any longer to meet Mr. Right, so she’s taken matters into her own hands. She’s quit her job, given up her nice apartment and undergone all the preliminary appointments to prepare for artificial insemination. Still, becoming a single mother is daunting, so when she spots Mason’s Wife Wanted ad on the Internet one night, she’s ready for a few laughs. She’s sure the ad must be fake, but when Mason answers back, she soon finds herself wanting more than a long distance relationship.

If Mason can just keep her talking until he makes it home from Afghanistan, he’s sure he can convince Regan he’s her man. But when he whisks her off for a trial run in Chance Creek, they’re in for an unpleasant surprise. The ranch is in ruins, the house has been stripped, and they’re going to have to work day and night to beat Mason’s deadline to win it back.

Can two strangers pull together against all odds? Or is this mission doomed to fail?

In April 2015 I received a free copy of the anthology Red Hot Beginnings. Red Hot Beginnings is an anthology with fourteen (14) different full length series openers. I decided to start reading Red Hot Beginnings because it was an anthology and I am hoping to find a few good books and a few new authors.

Since Red Hot Beginnings contains fourteen (14) full length novels, I’ve decided to review each entry separately.

Note: Red Hot Beginnings is no longer for sale. Each book will have to be acquired separately – some are still free.

Fourteen NYT, USA Today, and top-selling authors have banded together to bring you 14 beautifully romantic, heart-pounding stories of love, passion, and thrilling suspense. These 14 amazing books are the beginnings to incredible series. Some of these alpha males are sweet, some are sexy, and some are furry or bitey. All will fight for their women and protect them in these 14 brilliant stories by authors you’ll love!

The Navy SEAL’s E-Mail Order Bride by Cora Seton
Life Blood by V. M. Black
Beauty Touched the Beast by Skye Warren
Rae Falling by Blair Babylon
Dazzled by Silver by Lacey Silks
Flourish by Sarah M. Cradit
Fight for Her by JJ Knight
Seek by Clarissa Wild
Adam’s Apple by Liv Morris
New York by JC Andrijeski
Tigress by Alica Knight
The Ghostwriter by Jacqueline Sweet
Sugar and Salt by Pavarti K. Tyler
Desired by Alisa Woods

First up in the Red Hot Beginnings anthology is The Navy SEAL’s E-Mail Order Bride by Cora Seton.

The Navy SEAL’s E-Mail Order Bride seems to be a modern take on the ol Western mail-order brides. That part was actually interesting and I enjoyed (for the most part) the banter between Mason and Regan as they got to know each other.

When I first started reading The Navy SEAL’s E-Mail Order Bride, I thought it was kinda cute and silly – which means I thought I’d have fun. I was wrong.

The beginning is cute and silly as I mentioned but as the book continues, depth is added. And this is a book where there should be little to no depth because the premise is so silly. The added depth turned into boredom as I watched the male MC, Mason, deceive the heroine, Regan, about his marriage needs – and watched Regan take it all in stride. I hate, HATE deception in Romance books, I don’t care if the main characters aren’t bothered by it because I am.

I had to force myself to skim the majority of the book. When the couple arrives at the Hall ranch and has sex for the first time, I was mostly done. Except honestly nudges me to admit I was done by the time Mason showed up at Regan’s door unannounced. Apparently Mason has never listened to any OutKast: I’ll Call Before I Come.

As I forced myself through page after page it really began to feel as if this book would never end. I had no problems with the writing or anything like that, I was just bored. So bored. Sooo bored of being bored by being bored. The ending was meh and I wasn’t a fan.


Leave a Reply